Tuesday, September 29, 2015

TLC Book Tours Book Review A Fine Summer's Day

A Fine Summer's Day coverAbout A Fine Summer's Day
• Paperback: 384 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (September 29, 2015)
On a fine summer's day in June 1914, Ian Rutledge is planning to propose to a woman he deeply loves, despite hints from his family and friends that she may not be the most suitable choice for a policeman's wife. To the north, another man in love—a Scottish Highlander named Hamish MacLeod—asks his own sweetheart to marry him.
Back in England, a son grieves for his mother, dredging up a dark injustice that will trigger a series of murders that Rutledge must solve. The victims are all upstanding and well-liked. The local police have their suspicions about the culprits and are less than cooperative with the London detective.
As clouds of war gather on the horizon, Rutledge digs deeper, finding similarities and patterns between the murders. With every moment at stake, he sets out to right a terrible wrong—an odyssey that will eventually force him to choose between the Yard and his country, between love and duty, and between honor and truth.
Add to Goodreads badge
Purchase Links
Amazon | IndieBound | Barnes & Noble

Review: A Fine Summer's Day is book 17 in the Ian Rutledge series. Book 17!!! How did I miss out on this series? I love historical mysteries, especially ones set around WWI. 

I'm used to series with a female lead character, so having Ian as the central character was something different for me, and I really liked him. I've read a few of the Bess Crawford books, but I think I like this series better. 

This book takes place as Europe is about to enter the war. It is actually a prequel book to the series, which makes this a great place to start the series, and I really enjoyed getting to know the characters.

What really makes these books so wonderful are how much attention to detail that you'll find here. I highly recommend this series and any other books by the Charles Todd, mother/son duo

Rating: 5 flowers

Charles ToddAbout Charles Todd

Charles Todd is the author of the Inspector Ian Rutledge mysteries, the Bess Crawford mysteries, and two stand-alone novels. A mother and son writing team, they live in Delaware and North Carolina. Visit their website at Charlestodd.com and like CharlesToddNovels on Facebook.


Heather J @ TLC Book Tours said...

I haven't read this series yet but I AM a fan of the Bess books so I know I'll give these a try at some point.

Thanks for being a part of the tour!

Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs using images from the Tea Time kit and the Saturday Night kit by MK-Designs