Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Great Escapes Book Tours Book Tours: Gone By Midnight



Gone by Midnight
Genre – Cozy Mystery
Print Length: 149 pages
Publisher: J. Lavene (February 2, 2016)
ASIN: B019AJC1XU
goodreads-badge-add-plus
Fans of Joyce and Jim Lavene will thrill at this collection of thirteen short stories—many are set in the worlds of their national bestselling mystery series, including the Missing Pieces Mysteries, the Renaissance Faire Mysteries, the Retired Witches Mysteries, and an upcoming mystery novel!
These stories contain the elements of mystery and fantasy the Lavenes are famous for, as well as some new things their readers have never seen. Several stories feature characters interacting with ghosts, magic, and the supernatural—the healing woman in “Courtship;” the Civil War widow in “One with the Darkness;” the city girl who summons a wizard from the past in “The Magician and the Sorceress/Accountant;” and the young introvert in “Aunt Edna” who finds her calling with help from a ghostly visitor.
Poignant, charming, and captivating, Joyce and Jim Lavene bring their characteristic wit and heart to these stories and introduce each one with a passage about its origin or how it ties into the universe they’ve created. Gone by Midnight is a treasury of tales that will delight the mind and touch the heart from one of the most prolific writing duos of our time.


Review: Anyone that loves the cozy mysteries of Jim and Joyce Lavene are going to want to grab a copy of Gone By Midnight. It is a collection of short stories that aren't what you would expect.

It starts with the haunting Aunt Edna, which is sad and yet beautiful at the time. It is really a lovely ghost story, not at all frightening but really heartwarming. I absolutely loved this story, but I'm prone to loving things that tug at your heart strings.

Another favorite in this collection was The Singing Trees of Jappa. Reading this story reminded me of Doctor Who. It really felt like something that would happen on that show.

The Magician and the Sorceress Accountant was funny and sweet. A woman not content with her appearance conjures up someone from the past to help change her appearance only to find this man loves her as she is. I was totally thrilled with this story.

The title story is one that just might bring a tear to your eye.

I don't want to give too much away about each story found here, because most are so short that sharing the plot gives too much away.

These stories will have you turning the pages quickly and you won't want to put the book down until you've finished, which won't be long because this collection is only about 150 pages long. The stories cover so many genres, sci fi, paranormal and even a bit of folklore, so there is definitely something for everyone here.

If you love Jim and Joyce's other books, you'll want to check this out. It will give you the answer to how they could write so many different series, because they can write anything!

Rating: 5 flowers





a Rafflecopter giveaway


2 comments:

Dianne Casey said...

Another great read from Joyce & Jim LaVene. Look forward to reading.

Dianne Casey said...

Another great read from Joyce & Jim LaVene. Look forward to reading.

 
Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs using images from the Tea Time kit and the Saturday Night kit by MK-Designs