Thursday, February 27, 2014

Book Review: A Bride For All Seasons

Author: Margaret Brownley, Debra Clopton, Mary Connealy, Robin Lee Hatcher
Title: A Bride For All Seasons
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Publish Date: June 18, 2013
Buy: Amazon
Review Copy Provided By: Booksneeze
Book Blurb: It all started with an ad in a mail-order bride catalogue . . .

This charming bouquet of novellas introduces you to four Hitching Post Mail-Order Bride Catalogue prospects in the year 1870, all eager for second chances . . . and hungry for happiness. Year in, year out, they'll learn that love often comes in unexpected packages.

"And then Came Spring" by Margaret Brownley

Mary-Jo has traveled halfway across the country to meet her match, arriving just in time for his funeral. Returning home seems like her only option until her would-be brother-in-law proposes a more daring idea.

"An Ever After Summer" by Debra Clopton

Ellie had no idea she's not what Matthew ordered. And what's wrong with being a "Bible thumper" anyway? She's determined to show him she's tougher than she looks-and just the girl he needs.

"Autumn's Angel" by Robin Lee Hatcher

Luvena would be perfect for Clay if she didn't come with kids. But kids are a deal breaker, especially in a rough-and-trouble mining town. ­ e trouble is, there's no money to send them back . . .

"Winter Wedding Bells" by Mary Connealy

David's convinced he's not long for the world. He needs someone to mother his boys when he's gone-nothing more. Can plucky Irish Megan convince him to work at living instead of dying?

Review: A Bride For All Seasons is a collection of novellas that revolve around a mail order bride catalog called The Hitching Post.

As the title suggests there is a story for every season. All of them are sweet romances that are Christian in nature without being too preachy.

All four stories are heart warming and sweet. My favorite of the four was Mary Connealy's "Winter Wedding Bells." The relationship between Meg and David felt the most real and heartfelt of them all. Meg had a hard life, she took care of her family and got little love in return.

David thinks he's dying, but Meg will have none of that.

I loved her spunk and her sass. I loved how she brought the life and the love back into his life. This was a fabulous story that will have you smiling and crying at the same time.

The first story "And Then Came Spring" was probably the sweetest. Mary Jo arrives to find her intended was killed and his son running amok! She's had much loss in her life.

That doesn't stop a relationship from starting with her and Tom her dead fiance's brother.

This is such a strange relationship, but so full of the "awwws," especially when Tom get's shot bringing in his brother's killer.

I equally loved "An Ever After Summer" and "Autumn's Angel". Matthew's little girl in "An Ever After Summer" was cute as a button, but not as cute as Prudy the mule!

The collection is really full of winners. I loved the tales of heartache and second chances here and, of course, faith. The heroes and the heroines all are in need of love and thanks to the publisher of The Hitching Post they all find it.

Any lover of Christian romance will want to add this book to their self!

Rating: 5 flowers


Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs using images from the Tea Time kit and the Saturday Night kit by MK-Designs