Friday, June 21, 2013

Book Review: His Majesty's Hope

Author: Susan Elia MacNeal
Title: His Majesty's Hope
Publish Date: May 14, 2013
Publisher: Bantam
Buy: Amazon
Review Copy Provided By: Net Galley
Book Blurb:   For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.

Review: If you are looking for a great historical spy novel, look no further than Susan Elia MacNeal's Maggie Hope series. His Majesty's Hope is the third book in this series. These books can be read as stand alone novels, but there are some things that would be easier to understand if you've read the previous two books.

In this book, Maggie is being sent to Germany, to help bring down Clara Hess, who just happens to be her mother. There are a lot of twists and turns. She discovers family she didn't know she had and through the family Susan shows us a few things about Nazi Germany that will leave you very cold.

I think most people just remember the genocide of the Jewish people during these years. What isn't taught much in schools is Operation Compassionate Death, where anyone with a hereditary disease was rounded up and killed in order to preserve the race.

If that doesn't send a chill through you, I don't know what will, especially since a lot of the victims in this case were children.

So no, this isn't a book that can be called a cozy. The subject matter is too serious to be a cozy.

Fans of the Maggie Hope series know how much attention is paid to historical accuracy, and this book is no different. It is told from several points of view....Maggie.....Elsie....David and Hugh. Through their eyes you get a good idea of what Britain was like in 1941 as well as Germany.

I loved getting more of David's story now that he's found Freddie, his current partner. Most people think gay rights haven't come very far, but when you read this you'll know a lot of strides have been made in opening minds since the 40s.

Elsie's story involves the resistance in Germany. She's a nurse who starts questioning things when one of her patients ends up dead. I really loved her. She was strong and though she didn't agree with what was happening in Germany, she loved her country.

There's a lot going on in Maggie's love life too and a lot that needs to be resolved. Thankfully book 4 in this series is in the works.

Rating: 5 flowers


Blog Design by Use Your Imagination Designs using images from the Tea Time kit and the Saturday Night kit by MK-Designs